Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Please help me understand PeerBlock...?

Posted by 4Jax 
Please help me understand PeerBlock...?
February 18, 2010 08:05PM
Hi,

I'm new to PeerBlock and got onto it after reading a post on a Torrent site a comment about being contacted by the IP Police after downloading from a particular torrent site. This caught my eye as their location is very near my home town in Toronto, Canada.

1st off... I thought file sharing was NOT illegal in Canada? I download flicks for free. I can, and do get those same DVD's from the public library for free as well and that's not illegal! Unbeknownst to many, but your public library (like mine does) has racks and racks of DVD tittles and many very new releases. I also borrow or loan the DVD's I've purchased to friends and family for no charge. My point is; what's the difference if it's for personal use and not for resale profit? But that's not my question/s.

So, all this leads me to installing PeerBlock and reading up on it for several hours and my frustration I still don't understand "why" or "how" it does what it does? Everything I read tells me over and over "what" it does. It block IP addresses. OK.

So, after reviewing the log I find to my surprise that Sony, companies from Dubai, UK, on-and-on have been knocking on my digital door. I just installed PeerBlock...I wonder what has been happening all this time up until then?

Questions:

1. PeerBlock seems to be blocking these companies IP's but what IS being stopped?

I have a firewall with my ports are Stealthed (100% tested and all ports closed). So without PB what could and has been going on. Is my hard drive being accesses for info? Are my torrents being monitored... and HOW?

I have HIPS protection from PCTools Firewall and am notified if any software is trying connect to the net.